email client

Story: Ubuntu 11.10 Will Stay With Evolution But Switch To Thunderbird If It Integrates With The DesktopTotal Replies: 35
Author Content
fischerville

May 13, 2011
4:28 PM EDT
I haven't used a desktop email client in about 10 years. Does anybody anymore?

Also: are there any good desktop email clients that organize by convo, like gmail?

tracyanne

May 13, 2011
5:32 PM EDT
Quoting:I haven't used a desktop email client in about 10 years. Does anybody anymore?

Yes.
Scott_Ruecker

May 13, 2011
5:39 PM EDT
Not me, I have been using webmail for at least 5-6 years now. I miss using e-mail clients like I miss having terminal cancer..;-)
tracyanne

May 13, 2011
5:41 PM EDT
There is simply no way in this world I will store my emails on someone else's computer.
jimbauwens

May 13, 2011
5:58 PM EDT
I have just been converted from webmail to desktop, and I love it. Once you get used to it, you will never turn back to webmail :p
Steven_Rosenber

May 13, 2011
8:43 PM EDT
I went back to mail clients about 6 months ago. I'm using Roundcube to read mail from my shared-hosting accounts, but I also use Thunderbird and Evolution (and sometimes Claws).

Thunderbird is still my No. 1 for my work e-mail (terrible IMAP server), gmail (which I use for mailing lists) and shared-host mail. But I'm keeping Evolution going, too.

tuxchick

May 13, 2011
11:05 PM EDT
Claws and Balsa are both excellent. Balsa is rare in that it supports mbox, maildirs, and mh.
Steven_Rosenber

May 13, 2011
11:13 PM EDT
I think what threw me with Claws was that I installed every add-on I could find in the Debian repo. I've since gotten rid of all of them. I need less complexity, not more.

I'm in Claws right now (got tired of Evolution tonight).
BernardSwiss

May 14, 2011
12:17 AM EDT
Quoting: I haven't used a desktop email client in about 10 years. Does anybody anymore?