Ubuntu 11.10-Desktop-i386.iso-Ocelot unable to see USb Wireless Adapter

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 11
Author Content
bayprince

Dec 28, 2011
2:40 PM EDT
Installed Ubuntu-Ocelot successfully, but unable to find the Network file or pgrm to apply the various wireless settings, such as SSID, encryption, IP, etc. I did check the Network folder in System Settings but it only offered Proxy connection as an option; nothing for a wired or wireless connection. I believe my inability to apply the usual network settings is the root of my no-connect situation

I am new to Linux so my navigating around Ubuntu is truly just peck n' poke right now. If by chance the 'wireless network setup file' isn't installed, plz let me know where to get it. And, how to download (if special requirements are needed) and install it.

I have installed a NetGear N300 Wireless USB WNA3100 Adapter which I know for sure WORKS.

Thanks much
jdixon

Dec 28, 2011
4:19 PM EDT
Well, in 10.04 (Lucid Lynx) the wireless connections are handled by Network Manager, which is accessed by clicking on the network symbol in the upper task bar. With 11.10 and the new Unity interface, I have no idea how it's accessed. :(

I'm sure the NetGear N300 works, but are you sure it works with Linux? This thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1853356

seems to indicate that it may not.

The reviews on NewEgg indicate that this one;

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833166...

does work, but it's only an N150, not an N300. At $7.99 though, it's hard to beat.
helios

Dec 29, 2011
9:42 AM EDT