Kubuntu

Story: The Kubuntu CommitmentTotal Replies: 28
Author Content
zenarcher

Mar 11, 2012
9:20 AM EDT
Good story! I've been using the KDE desktop for 7 or 8 years and have always preferred it over others. That doesn't make it better nor worse than any other, but solely my choice. I've also read, time after time, how OpenSUSE is superior for those who use the KDE desktop and how Kubuntu is the worst of the lot. In my own experience, Kubuntu has been great. No problems? Of course there have been problems....as with all distros. But overall, I've been much happier with Kubuntu than with OpenSUSE or most any other distro I've tried. I've encountered more headaches with both Mandriva and OpenSUSE than I've found with Kubuntu...and when I do encounter problems, I find it much easier to search for help, if nothing else.
Fettoosh

Mar 11, 2012
2:18 PM EDT
For over ten years, I have been using KDE on two Distros, Suse since 1997 and Kubuntu since Novell signed their covnant with MS. Gnome was never appealing to me and KDE was always strides ahead of Gnome. I tested various Distros. periodically like Mepis, Mandrake, & Fedora. PCLOS was my favorite in the interim period between Suse & Kubuntu, but unfortunately it wasn't all I wanted in a Distro. Couple reasons I like Kubuntu over others. It is Debian based, meaning robust and solid base, and it keeps up with the latest & greatest updates from KDE. Chakra is another very good Disto but it is not there yet on same level as Kubuntu, and it is not Debian based. In my opinion, APT is the best & easiest package management system.

All along during the development period of KDE 4, even during the rocky period, I persisted and stayed confident that KDE 4 will be years ahead of all desktops, including commercial ones. With KDE 4.8.1, I believe mostly everything is working great except for couple areas, KMail and semantic search. Both of these are being worked on and getting consistently better.