One distribution to rule them all!

Story: Sabayon 11 GNOME, KDE, MATE, and Xfce previewTotal Replies: 8
Author Content
cmost

Feb 22, 2013
7:46 AM EDT
I've been using Sabayon since 2009, after using mainly Debian (Mepis, Sidux, Mint, Parsix) for years. I have to say that Sabayon is the most flexible, powerful distribution I've ever encountered.

First, it's based on Gentoo but is a binary distribution. That means packages are quickly and easily installed with equo (similar to apt-get) or via a GUI (either Rigo or Sulfur) that is similar to Synaptic or Ubuntu's Software store. Sabayon, like Debian also has three repository levels, stable, Weekly and Limbo, that allows users to enjoy a rock solid stable experience or live on the bleeding edge. Dyed in the wool Gentoo fans will appreciate that emerge and portage are also standing by and in full working order should users wish to manage Sabayon in the more conventional Gentoo way once they get it installed to their piece of kit.

Speaking of installation, Sabayon uses the powerful and mature Anaconda as its installer which means getting it onto hardware is a piece of cake. The latest version, Sabayon 11 now includes UEFI support allowing it to boot on newer hardware carrying Windows 8 certification. Sabayon offers myriad desktop choices from popular heavyweights such as Gnome 3.x, KDE 4.9.x or XFCE 4.x to lesser known but popular alternatives like Mint's innovative Cinnamon, the revived Gnome 2.x fork MATE and newcomer Razor-Qt which is a lightweight desktop similar to XFCE but built with Qt. There's something to satisfy all tastes or hardware requirements. Also noteworthy is that Sabayon includes multimedia codecs and proprietary drivers right out of the box.

Finally, Sabayon's forums, unlike those of Gentoo's, are filled with friendly, knowledgeable folks who won't bristle at newbie questions or bite your head off for not RTFM. Highly recommended!
Jeff91

Feb 22, 2013
10:12 AM EDT