Switching to SUSE 10.0

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 135
Author Content
sharkscott

Nov 28, 2005
6:56 PM EDT
Today is the day that my casual relationship with Linux gets serious.

It all started about a year ago when my friend gave me his old desktop. I already had an extra monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers and before I knew it I had two computers in my room. I am what would be considered an average user in the MS world and I know my around a computer but I am not a programmer or hacker, yet.

I could sit here and tell you why I have finally decided to do this, but you know as well as I that it has all been said before.

What I will say is this.

In the last year I have learned more about computers than I ever thought I would and I have had a complete blast doing it! I have had more fun than when I got my first computer, which had 98 on it. Not to mention the cool people that I have met through learning more about Linux. I am really having fun again, really!

We're goin in, and we're goin in full throttle...

Here is my concise attempt to give you an idea where I am at. I have installed and used FC1, FC3, Ubuntu, De Mundi then Kubuntu and then SuSE 9.1, 9.2, 9.3 and now 10.0. I have started to get used to the file system, I have learned some commands and have figured out how to read the man pages, which by the way are the coolest thing since sliced bread when it comes to learning basic stuff. I am what you would call a newbie, I know it, I'm ok with it. My grandfather used to say "You can learn more, if you admit you don't know more". Its the way he said it that makes me remember.