only one company-tender? isn't that iillegal in the EU?

Story: Ten of the biggest Dutch municipalities say 'enough!' to MicrosoftTotal Replies: 4
Author Content
rittmey

Dec 28, 2006
1:21 AM EDT
Thanks Hans and Scott, this is really interesting and encouraging!

One thing though makes me wonder. AFAIK we have some laws in the EU stipulating EU-wide tenders for any government acquisition and contract above a given financial limit. Therefore the NL-MS deal should be illegal, the contract revoked and a EU-wide tender should be started. So why doesn't it happen? Do you know more about this? I am no lawyer and in no way firm in regulatory law in the EU. So maybe s.o. else could elaborate on this?

Sander_Marechal

Dec 28, 2006
3:54 AM EDT
I had this discussion with my dad who occasionally does EU-wide tenders. Apparently it's not illegal if all other participants fail to meet certain criteria. For example, say there's a tender out for application servers. The pre-tender criteria could be "must be able to fit inside existing thin client arcitecture". Now, if the current infrastructure happens to be Citrix Metaframe, only Windows server suppliers will be allowed to tender (there are as-of-yet no Linux Citrix servers). They are not allowed to name names though (i.e. they can't say "must run Windows" or "Must be Citrix compatible").

It's kind of like the fuss from a few years back, about tenders requiring a minimum Mhz/Ghz count for CPU's, while "overlooking" the fact that AMD chips do the same ammount of work in far fewer cycles. Incidentally, this is also why AMD has this weird CPU numbering scheme - the looks. The AMD 3200+ is roughly equivalent (ballpark) with a 3200 Mhz Intel processor, while only running at 2000 Mhz in reality. It goes to the "bigger numbers are better" feeling.
hkwint

Dec 28, 2006
4:35 AM EDT
Quoting:the NL-MS deal should be illegal

Wish it was. They didn't keep it secret for nothing, I suppose.