Author Content
Igor

Sep 02, 2007
5:50 PM EDT
type 'top' followed by 1
azerthoth

Sep 02, 2007
6:10 PM EDT
WOW, never realized top was that versatile. Type h after top starts, heck I never realized that top was interactive at all, I just used it for reference to see what the system was up to behind my back.
techiem2

Sep 02, 2007
6:23 PM EDT
For some more coolness, check out htop. http://htop.sourceforge.net/
montezuma

Sep 03, 2007
12:07 PM EDT
Hytherthreading doubles the number of physical processors....
azerthoth

Sep 03, 2007
6:26 PM EDT
techiem2 thanks for pointing out htop, I turned one of my consoles back on just so I can leave it up and running. Very handy indeed.
techiem2

Sep 03, 2007
7:12 PM EDT
Yeah, I think I've been playing with it for a couple months now. Nice and customizable with lots of features. And prettier than normal top too. :)
gus3

Sep 03, 2007
9:27 PM EDT
montezuma, HT doesn't double your CPU count. It merely doubles the number of active contexts. It's still a single core.
montezuma

Sep 04, 2007
9:11 AM EDT
gus3,

Not with you. If I type top followed by 1 on my system I get a list for cpu0, cpu1, cpu2 and cpu3 each treated equally and reporting percentage utilization. I have a dual processor Xeon chip so have only two real cpus. No where is that fact reported on top that I can see.....
azerthoth

Sep 04, 2007
11:49 AM EDT
I think although I wont swear to it, that it is in the verbiage used.

>> Hytherthreading doubles the number of physical processors....

would read better and more accurately as

Hytherthreading doubles the number of apparent processors....
montezuma

Sep 04, 2007
12:23 PM EDT
Good grief :-p all I meant to say was that if you have hyperthreading enabled (as many do) then top 1 reports the system has twice as many processors as it actually has. Therefore all these methods give inaccurate answers in a common situation
gus3

Sep 04, 2007
9:52 PM EDT
Okay, think of it this way: