paper!

Story: How do I remember all these passwords?Total Replies: 35
Author Content
tuxchick

Jan 23, 2008
12:55 PM EDT
I've tested a number of password-keepers, and I always come back to the same one: paper. Keeping passwords on a computer when you need those passwords to use the computers seems a bit risk- hard drives fail, filesystems go berserk, anything can happen, and then what do you do? What if you forget the password to your password keeper? What if an intruder (co-worker, nosy sibling, etc.) acquires the password to your password keeper? It's entirely too fragile for my liking.

I have over sixty logins that I track now; online services like banking and shopping, various remote computers, local system passwords, and such. I have a master login file that gets locked away. It is in a folder that does not say "Logins for Carla's Stuff!! Don't look!!", but has an innocuous label. There is a place in one's security architecture for bits of useful obscurity. Then I have another copy that travels with me. Just a single sheet of paper all folded and tucked away, in my personal shorthand that I doubt anyone else could decipher.

What I really really want are card-scanners built into keyboards, and user-controlled smart cards. Then we could keep all of our stuff in a nice reliable portable medium. Of course there is not one single proprietary vendor interested in this; what they want is to control our stuff, not give us tools to control our stuff ourselves. I keep thinking I should put some energy into sponsoring a FOSS project to develop this.
Scott_Ruecker

Jan 23, 2008
1:05 PM EDT
I do a similar thing Carla, but you give me a couple of good ideas to make it better..obscure file names..I like it..
Sander_Marechal

Jan 23, 2008
2:17 PM EDT
Quoting:What I really really want are card-scanners built into keyboards, and user-controlled smart cards. Then we could keep all of our stuff in a nice reliable portable medium.