Mass processing .doc files

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 7
Author Content
techiem2

Feb 07, 2008
12:43 PM EDT
Ok, so apparently we need to make the syllabi available to the students. Which means we want them in pdf (easy enough). The Problem is, they contain a Course Outline section that's basically an anticipated plan for the class schedule, which of course the students aren't supposed to have. So what I need to do is, read the word file, process OUT that section (wherever it may be - there isn't a standard layout), and dump the "fixed" version to pdf (without losing the formatting). At one point my boss had a word macro to do it, but that's been long since lost. I assume there's a way to make OO.o do this, but I have no experience whatsoever with macros and such.

Any pointers? Ideas? Other methods?

Thanks guys and gals as always!

(as an aside, my sign control system is coming along nicely, I'm at the point of figuring out how to control mplayer with it - the button to force conversion of a file doesn't work [the script starts then dies soon after], but that process could be cron'd anyway, so it's not vital if I can't get it working from my php interface)

Mark II
Sander_Marechal

Feb 07, 2008
1:01 PM EDT
Try running OOo in headless mode on a server and script it from the outside using Python. Converting to PDF is really easy. Take a look at Mirko Nasato's PyODConverter: http://www.artofsolving.com/opensource/pyodconverter

Try converting that script so it will strip the required section before converting to PDF. Then write up a cron job that watches some directory for .doc files and converts anything that it finds into PDF. Should't be that hard. I highly recommend subscribinng to OO's dev mailinglist at api.openoffice.org for help.
ColonelPanik

Feb 07, 2008
3:11 PM EDT
Do it in Moodle
dinotrac

Feb 07, 2008
3:47 PM EDT
Sander -