Response from Canonical?

Story: How Canonical Can Do Ubuntu Right: It Isn't a Technical ProblemTotal Replies: 36
Author Content
montezuma

Apr 11, 2010
9:00 PM EDT
Caitlyn,

I have been hearing about this issue for several years. I am a Ubuntu user who deploys it on many different platforms. When I upgrade there are always some niggling problems. Some worse than others but after a week or two most are sorted out. I have complained for years that Canonical should pay more attention to QA and they did pay it lip service about 2 years ago. But it seems nothing much has really changed.

So it would be good to get a point by point response from Canonical to the issues you raise. As a journalist you really owe it to your audience if you raise these issues to attempt to get a rebuttal directly from the source. Comments are one thing but a response from Zimmerman or equivalent would be much better. Some rational dialogue on this valid concern would be productive.

Just my 2c.
Sander_Marechal

Apr 12, 2010
2:41 AM EDT
I recommend all my family and friends who use Ubuntu to wait a month before upgrading to a new Ubuntu release. In that time, most bugs have been shaken out.
caitlyn

Apr 12, 2010
3:33 AM EDT
@Sander: If they decide to fix the bug at all within the release cycle. They decided not to in the case of the horribly broken Intel graphics drivers in Jaunty. It appears they are doing the same with the udev or devicekit issue which impacted my printer and several other HP and Minolta models at the very least. One of my big complaints in the article is the conscious decision by Ubuntu to not fix bugs, including serious ones, with a release cycle and to simply wait until the next release.

@Montezuma: Your suggestion is valid but too many people have tried and it always comes to nothing but canned responses and no change. Do you remember Chris Smart's articles about Karmic: http://www.linux-mag.com/cache/7600/1.html http://www.linux-mag.com/cache/7600/1.html