Querry concerning Solid State Drives

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 30
Author Content
Bob_Robertson

Feb 22, 2012
2:44 PM EDT
It occurred to me recently that I might finally be interested in Solid State Drives.

Particularly, a configuration such as using an SSD for / and a regular HD for /home. With 4G of RAM, I never seem to use swap, so I might as well put that on the SSD also.

My latest new motherboard (gave up on ASRock after the third failure, bought an Asus) has SATAIII, which would benefit greatly from the increased read/write speed of a SSD. USB3 as well, which will be nice if I ever get any USB3 capable dongles.

Has anyone had good experience with a SSD? Last I read, they were still a bit flaky and prone to failure.

Or should I just go over to Tom's Hardware or Phoronix and stop bugging you fine people?
Jeff91

Feb 22, 2012
3:10 PM EDT
I've been using an SSD in my T101MT for over two years now - never had a problem with it :)

~Jeff
JaseP

Feb 22, 2012
3:23 PM EDT
A big no to swap on SSD,... despite failing to use it often, doing so will kill your SSD quicker.

I'd recommend using an SSD for the (majority of) OS and other things that don't change much. But reserve any partitions that see frequent read/writes to the HD. So you could safely put /boot, /usr, /etc, /opt, /sbin, /lib, /bin and maybe a few others on the SSD. But I'd save the HD for /home, /tmp, /mnt, /media, /var, and any others where there are (more likely) frequent read/writes.

Some may disagree with me on this...
theboomboomcars

Feb 22, 2012
3:32 PM EDT
I just got a new laptop with an ssd and so far I would recommend one. There are plenty of useful tips out there on setting up your ssd with linux to get the best performance and longevity from it.
Bob_Robertson

Feb 22, 2012
3:45 PM EDT
JaseP,