I took COBOL off my CV years ago

Story: Uni profs: Kids today could do with a bit of 'mind-crippling' COBOLTotal Replies: 29
Author Content
gary_newell

Mar 12, 2013
4:30 AM EDT
When I first started out I was a COBOL programmer for IBM. I took it off my CV years ago because when prospective employers see COBOL on your CV they are instantly turned off (unless you are going for a COBOL programmers job).

The issue with COBOL programming isn't the COBOL. The issue is the mainframes that they work on. I hate CICS and I hate TSO and JCL.

I don't care if they offer double my wage. I will never write another line of COBOL.
tracyanne

Mar 12, 2013
4:31 AM EDT
Me neither.
distrorank

Mar 12, 2013
11:27 AM EDT
Funny story back when I was in undergrad. For part of my work study financial aid, I worked in the computer room at night as a mainframe operator and help desk person. Did the nightly backups and answered phone support questions for the COBOL programmers, blah blah blah...

So, you know sometimes you just go through the motions when things get really monotonous. I loaded the nightly backup tape on the big reel-to-reel tape drive and sat down at the terminal. I might have even been talking on the phone to someone. But instead of kicking off the backup job, I started the restore job - not even thinking about what I was typing. It was one of those "oh cr@p" moments as soon as the return key was pressed.

So I restored week old data. During registration. Yep.

They next few days, the student services department had to re-key in all of the student registrations for the next term by hand from the paper copies. I kept very far away from the student services department for a while after that. Fun times.

Anyway, I don't really like COBOL either but I still have my textbook here somewhere. Never say never... ;)
Bob_Robertson

Mar 12, 2013
11:50 AM EDT
When I look at COBOL it's just another programming language, but heavy on typing.

Very IBM-like.