Try a BSOD at depth

Story: National Insecurity? Navy Still Using Windows XPTotal Replies: 16
Author Content
Ridcully

Jun 29, 2015
8:10 AM EDT
It terrifies me. I'm a retired naval officer. Although I am not an ex-submariner, I've been out in a submarine and I am very aware of the rigours of the "undersea service". . Just the thought of a BSOD while submerged makes me cringe in fear - it is almost a death sentence. If this article is correct, and WinXP is STILL the principal OS on US ships then it is irresponsible in the extreme on the part of US Naval command. Or that's how I would see it. Of course, I could be utterly wrong, because I was never in the US navy....nevertheless, the thought of this situation as I have painted it, is a horror.
penguinist

Jun 29, 2015
9:15 AM EDT
Looks like the Brits were also going down that path. Hopefully this is just "old news" in their case.

http://www.cnet.com/news/royal-navy-goes-with-windows-for-su...
JaseP

Jun 29, 2015
9:44 AM EDT
I think it was the USS Yorktown that had to be towed back to port several times because of Windows NT failures...
gus3

Jun 29, 2015
2:11 PM EDT
*clears throat*

I crashed a Linux filesystem(*) last Friday evening, and the only way to reboot was using the Raising Skinny Elephants sequence. The panic reported an illegal zero-page access. Very uncool.

(*)testing btrfs using 30 threads in dbench.
penguinist

Jun 29, 2015
2:27 PM EDT
gus3: I've never experienced such an issue, then again, I've not ventured too far from ext4 or predecessors. I hope you wrote up a detailed bugzilla report, such issues are usually fixed pretty fast if they can be reproduced and/or be well documented.
JaseP

Jun 29, 2015
4:50 PM EDT
Quoting:(*)testing btrfs using 30 threads in dbench.
Therein lies the problem,... no?!?!

I'm sorry to say it, but btrfs is still too new to be using in a production environment. If you read the Wiki, you'll get that message pretty much by reading,...